Guns N’ Roses

12 03 2008

If I could change one event in the Rock N’ Roll history it’d be the demise of my favorite band.. Guns N’ Roses. Ever since I saw November Rain on tv in 2004 I was in love with this band. Soon after that I bought the Greatest Hits album wich had just came out. That record became my bible in the summer of 2004. In december that same year my dad bought me Appetite For Destruction.. and that record really did change everything for me.. my taste in music, the way I looked, the way I thought about things.. everything.

black n white

Now I’m four years older and I still love the band.. at least the “old” Guns N’ Roses as many people call it.. I just call it Guns N’ Roses. What Axl is doing at the moment has, in my eyes, nothing to do with Guns N’ Roses. I think that when Axl just continued his career under his name, as a solo project, he’d still have my support, but I really don’t like the whole idea of calling the new band Guns N’ Roses.. It’s nothing like the old band used to be. They’re probably all very talented musicians but it just ain’t the same as it used to be.. But than again.. who the fuck am I to judge.

I still wish Axl all the luck and whatever he needs recording and maby even releasing Chinese Democracy and I must admit I’m still very curious about what the album is gonna be like.. and I’d probably even buy it whenever the thing comes out.

As for the ex-Gunners, I love Velvet Revolver (gonna see ’em live April 1st!!) and I like the different solo projects very much too.

gnr

But still.. if I had the power to do so.. I’d fix the old band from the Appetite era.. and let ’em make a lot of records with a simular sound and attitude and what I’d love most.. let ’em tour the world again so I can see my favorite band preform.. aagh.. I love to daydream..

Anyhow.. here’s my GN’R (and soloproject/VR) collection:

appetite
Appetite For Destruction
lies
G N’ R Lies
uyi
Use Your Illusion I
uyiii
Use Your Illusion II
spaghetti
“The Spaghetti Incident?”
era
Live Era: ’87-’93
gh
The Greatest Hits
Use Your Illusion I (DVD)
Use Your Illusion II (DVD)
Bootlegs:
Live at the Ritz ’88
Live in Chicago ’92 (DVD)

Slash’s Snakepit – It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere
Izzy Stradlin’ and the Ju Ju Hounds – Izzy Stradlin’ and the Ju Ju Hounds
Duff McKagan – Believe In Me
Velvet Revolver – Contraband
Velvet Revolver – Melody and the Tyranny
Velvet Revolver – Libertad

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 03 2008
Gene

your right on dude!..I was lucky enough to see them a few times in 87-88..I was at the 88 concert at the Ritz..just amazing..it a moment in time…never again would it be that cool….it’s cool to hear about someone as young as yourself to be taken by the band….What Axl is doing is shameful…but call it “The Axl Rose project”….GNR was something special..and it’s no more..move on brother..we all would respect you more….-peace-

1 05 2008
inknsleaze

I’ve moved on man.. but I just love to think about how cool it’d be if I could have been able to see them live and really find out what the old GN’R feelin was.. Thanks for your reply!

Leave a Reply

